Frequently Asked Questions

我们的认证
1. Proudly Indigenous Crafts & Designs 网站由谁管理,因纽特人和其他原住民如何参与该过程中的决策?

Seal and Sealing Network (SSN) 的使命是将加拿大的海豹行业的猎人、加工商、制造商、零售商和加拿大原住民聚集在一起,以推广和销售高质量和可持续的加拿大海豹产品。您可以在 https://canadiansealproducts.com/about-us 上找到有关 SSN 的更多信息

SSN 是一个非营利组织,负责网上商城的运营。与 PIC&D 小组委员会密切合作并与土著海豹小组委员会合作,决定和实施不同的 PIC&D 活动。 PIC&D 小组委员会包括来自努纳武特政府和西北地区政府的代表(这两个省被欧盟视为“认可的机构”,允许认证的海豹皮及其产品出口到欧盟。土著海豹小组委员会包括参与(海豹捕猎活动的土著人代表包括努纳武特、西北地区、魁北克北部、纽芬兰和拉布拉多、新斯科舍省和不列颠哥伦比亚省)。

2. 什么是Proudly Indigenous Crafts and Designs?有正品保证认证指的是哪些特定的认证机构?
最近,SSN 推出了加拿大海豹产品品牌 (www.canadiansealproducts.com) 以及 Proudly Indigenous Crafts & Designs (www.proudlyindigenouscrafts.c​​om) 品牌。 PIC&D 品牌专注于推广正宗的土著海豹皮产品。在 PIC&D 网上商店出售的所有海豹皮毛和皮革产品都经过“自豪地土著”认证。这意味着它们是由土著社区收获和/或由土著工匠和设计师制作的。 PIC&D 的海豹产品符合严格的标准和准则,能确保其真实性、质量标准和可追溯性。在 PIC&D 网站上注册的所有艺术家必须符合此页面上提供的供应商资格标准:https://proudlyindigenouscrafts.c​​om/become-a-vendor/。对于我们来说,推广PIC&D设计师和工匠的作品,并确保他们获得公平的利润份额是非常重要的。
优点
1、海豹皮毛和皮革有什么优点?

海豹皮,作为毛皮和皮革,几千年来一直被用来保护加拿大最北部的居民免受最恶劣的冬季条件的影响。海豹毛皮防水、防风、耐用、保暖,是制作衣服、靴子和庇护所的优质材料。海豹毛皮和海豹皮革产品的使用寿命更长(几十年),产品使用寿命结束后,材料可生物降解。

2.海豹皮保暖吗?

是的。数千年来,因纽特人和其他原住民一直使用海豹皮毛制作服装、鞋履和住所。海豹皮毛可以抵御北方恶劣气候的风、冷、冰和雨。

3. 鞣制的海豹皮和生海豹皮有什么区别?

在努纳武特,人们认为自然干燥和软化的毛皮是生的,因为它们没有经过化学鞣制,但不是我们想象的那种新鲜的海豹皮。今天,“生”海豹皮被视为天然状态下未经加工的海豹皮。鞣制过的生皮经过处理(鞣制)以防止其分解,增加耐用性,并可以增加颜色。它使皮防水,但不像生皮那样防水。生皮可以通​​过多种方法鞣制,使用化学或自然方法。

4、成年海豹皮毛有什么特点?

成年海豹皮毛防水、防风、保暖、柔软、光滑且耐用——鉴于海豹的自然栖息地的条件,海豹皮必须如此。成年海豹皮毛也有精美的图案,有各种深浅不一的白色和灰色斑点。

5.海豹皮耐用吗?

经过适当加工的海豹皮毛是世界上最耐用的纺织品之一。

6. 海豹皮毛可以生物降解吗?

海豹皮毛是完全天然的产品,因此可以生物降解。

产品
1.海豹有毛吗?

是的,海豹有毛,就像其他哺乳动物一样。

2. 海豹毛是什么样子的?

海豹皮毛柔软、有光泽、光滑,在自然形态下,颜色可以从近白色到褐色,再到深浅不一的灰色到近乎黑色。而且很多毛皮都有吸引人的斑点和阴影。

3. 有哪些海豹皮毛颜色可供选择?

在自然状态下,海豹皮毛通常呈灰色和黑色。然而,今天的纺织艺术家将海豹皮毛染成各种各样的颜色,从红色到蓝色再到紫色。

4.海豹皮为什么要鞣制?

海豹皮毛被鞣制作为保存它的一种方法。鞣制后,海豹皮毛耐用、柔韧且不易变质。如果处理得当,鞣制会将海豹皮变成柔软的皮革,毛和皮牢固地附着在一起。

5. 我们如何给海豹皮分级?

海豹毛皮按毛皮大小、毛皮质量和颜色进行分级。毛皮的任何损坏,特别是洞、毛皮缺失(秃斑)和/或变色(变黄)都会降低毛皮的价值。面积较大的毛皮起价较高。

6. 海豹皮毛产品怎么用?
海豹皮毛可用于制作各种产品,包括外套、鞋类、配饰、家居装饰等等,可用于时装、设计和工艺品。海豹皮毛越来越多地用于制作耐用且时尚的衣服和鞋子,以及耳环、手镯、钱包和包包等配饰。设计师将它用作高端时尚的装饰和点缀。海豹皮也适用于家居,也可用作地毯或空调被。应用是无止境的。
7、海豹毛皮和海豹皮革有什么区别?

海豹毛皮利用海豹的毛发/皮毛,它附着在皮肤(皮革)上。海豹皮一般是指经过鞣制的海豹皮,去掉毛。

8. 海豹皮值多少钱?

价格点因毛皮大小、质量、颜色以及使用方式(例如传统鞣制或现代工业鞣制)而异。一般来说,终端市场用户的价格范围大约从 100 美元的小毛皮,到可能超过 500 美元的非常大的、经过良好鞣制的高质量的海豹毛皮。

9. 海豹皮在美国合法吗?

1972年,美国通过了海洋哺乳动物保护法;从那时起,美国市场就一直禁止海豹产品。

10. 哪里可以买到海豹皮?

海豹毛皮和海豹毛皮产品可从很多专业毛皮零售商、工艺品商店和工匠处购买。

可持续性
1、假皮草和真皮草有什么区别?
假皮草就是和字面意思一样——假的。它看起来像真皮草,但通常由塑料或其他人造产品制成,涉及化学工业过程和石油产品。假皮草也无法提供与真皮草相同的耐用性、保暖性以及防风和防水功能。

野生皮草是一种天然产品。虽然可能会出于保存目的进行加工,但野生皮草仍保持接近其自然状态,并为穿着者提供温暖和保护。

2、海豹皮环保吗?

无论是在环境上还是在道德上,使用动物的所有部分始终是理想的。今天的海豹产业使用海豹肉、油和毛皮来充分利用动物。

海豹皮毛是一种天然产品,源自权威机关精心管理的捕猎活动。加工得当,海豹皮毛可以使用几十年;经得起时间考验的耐用产品,然后可生物降解。假皮草产品做不到这一点。

3. 海豹皮毛是可再生资源吗?

是的。加拿大海豹捕猎活动管理良好,并遵循严格的政府规定。为获取肉和毛皮而收获的海豹种群健康且不断增加。

4. 海豹皮草收割方式残忍吗?
没有人愿意使用与残忍相关的产品。然而,基于许多因素,残忍的概念因人而异,通常是非常主观的。在一个人判定某项活动残忍与否,最重要的是充分了解关于该活动的真实、客观的信息。在任何此类评估中,始终尊重该活动的所有组成部分和参与者,包括动物本身、其生活的环境以及从该活动中受益的人和社区,每一个都有自己的角度来考虑。
5. 获取海豹皮毛有多道德?
这个问题的答案与上一个相似。就海豹捕猎行业而言,已经有缜密的研究并提出了具体建议,以确保从动物福利的角度来看,使用最好的捕猎方法。随着行业新机遇的出现,这些研究仍在继续。
6. 海豹皮毛贸易合法吗?

在整个加拿大,海豹皮毛贸易是合法的。美国和欧盟有限制;如果您来自这些地区,请在进口海豹产品之前进行相关法规的调查。

7. 你们用的海豹资源是否可持续?

是的。我们使用的海豹种群稳定且不断增加。捕猎是根据加拿大政府确定的严格管理规定和配额限制进行的。

8. 海豹资源是怎么被利用的?
今天,几乎所有的海豹部分都被使用,包括肉、油和毛皮。充分利用是海豹捕猎者、加工商和供应商的目标。
9. 海豹宝宝会被杀吗?

如果将“海豹宝宝”定义为仍在哺乳的海豹,那么自 1986 年以来,加拿大就禁止猎杀这一年龄组的海豹。现在优先猎杀的海豹是在至少几周前完全靠自己独立生活的海豹。目前商业捕猎的物种(灰海豹和竖琴海豹)的哺乳期很短,因为冬天或早春的情况,当母亲分娩时,环境变化是不可预测的,小海豹必须尽快获得必要的能量储备。断奶会很突然,小海豹再也见不到妈妈了,只能靠自己去学习必要的狩猎技能。

10. 海豹是如何被捕猎的?
绝大多数海豹都用步枪射中头部来捕猎。对于竖琴海豹,只有当它们在稳定的冰上时才能使用哈卡皮克或棍棒,由于气候变暖,这种冰越来越少。对于刚断奶的小灰海豹,现在几乎只出生在陆地上,因此只使用哈卡皮克或棍棒。
11. 为什么用棍棒捕猎海豹这么受到关注?
通过多项研究,已经很好地证明了哈卡皮克或棍棒是捕猎刚断奶的竖琴海豹和灰海豹的首选工具。这有几个很好的理由。这些小海豹的头骨非常薄,很容易被哈卡皮克或棍棒的一次或很少的打击而骨折,几乎与正确击中头部的速度一样快来自高口径步枪。而且,如果一两次打击似乎没有立即杀死海豹,那么猎人就在海豹旁边,可以很快再施加一击。用步枪射击头部的情况并非如此,如果第一枪没命中要害,当受伤的动物正在移动时,再次射击头部是非常困难的,尤其是从远处射击。最后,当猎人拿着哈卡皮克站在冰边时,海豹的尸体滑入水中的可能性比从远处射击海豹时要小得多。
12.海豹捕猎有什么好处?

这是与上述类似的主观问题。这里还需要说明有关土著和因纽特人权利的信息,而且人类是杂食动物,因此是海豹等动物的掠食者。当我们可持续地捕猎海豹时,这也可以保持生态系统的平衡。

13. 在加拿大猎海豹合法吗?
是的。海豹捕猎是合法的,并受到加拿大政府渔业和海洋部的严格监管和监督。猎人获得许可并接受培训以遵循最佳捕猎实践。此处请注意因纽特人和原住民根据不同协议,为生计和经济目的而捕猎的权利。
14. 海豹产品在美国合法吗?

不合法。1972年,美国通过了《海洋哺乳动物保护法》;从那时起,美国市场就一直禁止海豹产品。

15、海豹和海狮有什么区别?

海豹和海狮都是被称为鳍足类的海洋哺乳动物。以下是两组物种之间的几个差异,但不应被视为全部差异:

• 海狮是棕色的,海豹通常是灰色的。

• 海狮很大声——它们会吠叫!海豹没有。

• 海狮有比海豹更大的前鳍肢,它们可以“行走”。

• 海狮有外耳罩;大多数海豹物种没有外耳。

16、海豹的什么部位会被利用?

今天,海豹行业从事者努力使用海豹的所有部分:肉、油和毛皮。

17. 海豹是否濒临灭绝?

加拿大没有一种海豹是濒危动物;海豹个体数是健康的、丰富的,而且还在不断增加。

18. 海豹是养殖的还是野生的?

海豹不是养殖的。加拿大海豹行业使用的所有海豹都是野生捕获的——天然、有机和可持续的。

文化与生计
1. 因纽特人是什么时候开始捕猎海豹的?

因纽特人捕猎海豹已有 4000 多年的历史。在充满挑战的环境中,海豹是最有价值的动物之一。

2.捕猎海豹是干什么用的?

动物的每一部分都是被利用的:毛皮可以用来做保暖、防水的衣服、靴子和庇护所;皮革和肌腱用来做马具;脂肪/油用于加热、照明及食用海豹油对健康的巨大益处;肉来养活一家人。

3. 海豹捕猎对因纽特人和土著社区意味着什么?

海豹捕猎是因纽特人和土著文化的核心,分享世代相传的习俗、技能和价值观。海豹捕猎活动还涉及与土地、其资源和更广泛的生态系统的联系。随着时间的推移,海豹作为出口产品也具有商业重要性,对社区的生计起着至关重要的作用。

4. 捕猎海豹的土著人住在哪里?

因纽特人是具有相似文化的土著民族,主要生活在西伯利亚、阿拉斯加、西北地区、努纳武特、魁北克、拉布拉多和格陵兰的北极海岸。加拿大因纽特人主要生活在魁北克省北部的努纳维特、努纳维克和拉布拉多的努纳西亚武特定居区。因努维亚卢伊特人主要生活在麦肯齐河三角洲、班克斯岛和西北地区维多利亚岛的一部分。阿拉斯加因努皮亚克人居住在北坡,而尤皮克人居住在阿拉斯加西部和俄罗斯楚科特卡自治区的一部分。

5. 海豹肉对加拿大北部人有多重要?

在加拿大北部,商店里买的肉很贵,一只海豹可以为一个家庭提供价值 200 美元或更多的肉——而且营养水平比你在商店里买到的肉要高得多。

6. 加拿大北部捕猎哪些海豹品种?

加拿大北极地区的因纽特人主要捕猎环斑海豹,这些环斑海豹在大陆最北部地区很普遍。许多猎人还会猎杀竖琴海豹、髯海豹和冠海豹,但程度要小得多。

7. 因纽特人什么时候开始交易海豹产品?

海豹的商业价值于 1800 年代后期在北方首次实现,当时欧洲捕鲸船首次抵达,不久之后,哈德逊湾公司开始与因纽特人进行贸易。从那时起,海豹捕猎不仅是为了生存,也是一种收入来源。

8. 海豹捕猎对北方经济有什么贡献?

今天的狩猎以家庭为中心,以生存为先。一家人把需要的食物和工艺品所需的毛皮拿走后,剩下的就可以卖。据估计,海豹产品的销售每年为努纳武特的经济贡献约 100 万美元。

9. 欧洲禁止捕猎海豹幼崽对北方社区有什么影响?
1982 年,欧洲议会为了回应绿色和平组织和其他激进组织的压力,禁止进口海豹幼崽毛皮。尽管他们豁免了因纽特人的猎人,但因纽特人从来不捕猎海豹幼崽。 1983 年,北部沿海土著社区的自杀人数激增,伴随着年收入的急剧下降(例如:Resolute Bay 海豹捕猎者的年收入从 54,000 美元降至 1000 美元),以及其他破坏性的社会和文化打击。许多以辛勤工作的人群和在家乡谋生而自豪的人在面对不公正和毫无根据的国际蔑视中挣扎。
10. 欧盟禁令对所有海豹产品有什么影响?

2009年,欧盟禁止进口海豹产品。与 1983 年早些时候的行动一样,欧盟免除了因纽特猎人的禁令——但结果再次是毁灭性的,海豹毛皮交易量减少了 90%。

11. 海豹捕猎对食品安全有多重要?

多达70%的因纽特人家庭被认为有食品危机。在北方,食品杂货可能贵得令人望而却步,传统的食物来源和狩猎方法正在受到侵蚀。海豹和其他乡村食品在确保营养丰富的食物供应方面可以起到很大的作用。在加拿大北部,商店里买的肉很贵。一只环海豹可以为一个家庭提供相当于价值200美元或更多的肉,而且营养水平更高。

Seal Fur and Leather

Benefits
1. What are the benefits of seal fur and leather?

Seal skin, both as fur and leather, has been used for thousands of years to protect Canada’s northernmost residents from the harshest winter conditions. Seal fur repels water, blocks wind, durable and retains heat making it a superior material for clothing, boots, and shelters. Seal fur and seal leather products last a longer time (decades) and when the product’s life is done the material is biodegradable.

2. Is seal fur warm?

Yes. Inuit and other Indigenous peoples have been using seal fur to fashion clothing, footwear, and shelter for thousands of years. Seal fur offers protection from the wind, cold, ice, and rain of the harsh northern climate.

3. What is the difference between a tanned and a raw seal hide?

In Nunavut we considered naturally dried and softened pelts to be raw as they are not chemically tanned but they are not fresh of the seal. Today, “raw” seal hide is considered as an unprocessed seal hide, in its natural state. A tanned hide has been treated (tanned) to protect it from decomposing, increase durability, and in some cases add colour. It makes the hide water repellent but not water proof as a rawhide is. Hides can be tanned by a number of methods, using chemical or natural means.

4. What are the characteristics of adult seal fur?

Adult seal fur is water repellent, windproof, warm, soft, smooth, and durable — it has to be, given the seal’s natural habitat. Adult seal fur is also beautifully patterned, with various shades of white and grey.

5. Is seal fur durable?

Seal fur, properly processed, is one of the most durable textiles available today.

6. Is seal fur biodegradable?

Seal fur is a fully natural product and as such, it is biodegradable.

Products
1. Do seals have fur?

Yes, seals have fur, like many mammals.

2. What does seal fur look like?

Seal fur is soft, shiny, smooth, and in its natural form, can be a range of colours from near white to brownish to shades of grey to almost black. Many pelts have attractive spots and shading.

3. What seal fur colours are available?

In its natural state, seal fur is generally shades of grey, and black. Today’s textile artists, though, dye seal fur all colours of the rainbow, from red to blue to purple.

4. Why is seal fur tanned?

Seal fur is tanned as a method of preserving it. Once tanned, seal fur is durable, flexible, and resistant to deteriorating. Done properly, tanning will turn seal skin into soft leather, with the fur firmly attached.

5. How do we grade seal fur?

Seal fur is graded by size of the pelt, quality of the fur and colour. Any damage to the pelt specifically holes, missing fur (bald spots), and/or off colouration (yellowing) decreases the value of the pelt. Larger pelts start at a higher price point.

6. What are seal fur products applications?

Seal fur can be used to make a wide range of products, including outerwear, footwear, accessories, home décor, and much more. It can be used in fashion, design, and craftwork. Seal fur is increasingly being used to craft durable and fashionable clothes and shoes, and accessories such as earrings, bracelets, purses and bags. Designers are using it as trim and accents in high-end fashion. Seal fur is also good for the home, as a rug or throw. The applications are endless.

7. What kind of products can be made with seal fur?
8. What is the difference between seal fur and seal leather?

Seal fur makes use of the seal’s hair/fur, which is attached to the skin (leather). Seal leather generally refers to the tanned seal skin, with the fur removed.

9. How much is a seal pelt worth?

The price point varies based on sized of the pelt, quality, colour and how it is prepared for use (e.g. traditional tanning or modern industrial tanning). In general the price range for end market users would approximately from $100 for a small pelt, up to and potentially over $500 for an extremely large, high quality pelt that is well tanned.

10. Is seal fur legal in the US?

In 1972, the United States passed the Marine Mammal Protection Act; ever since then US markets have been closed to seal products.

11. Where can I find seal fur?

Seal fur and seal fur products are available from a number of specialty fur retailers, craft shops and artisans.

Sustainability
1. What is the difference between fake fur and wild fur?

Fake fur is just that — fake. It is made to look like fur but is usually made from plastic or another man-made product, involving chemical industrial processes and petroleum products. Fake fur also does not provide the same durability, warmth, and wind and water protection as wild fur.

Wild fur is a natural product. While it may be processed for preservation purposes, wild fur remains close to its natural state, and provides the wearer with warmth and protection.

2. Is seal fur environmentally friendly?

It is always ideal, environmentally and ethically, to use all parts of an animal that is harvested. Today’s seal harvest attempts to make full use of the animal by harvesting the seal meat, oil, and pelt.

Seal fur is a natural product and derived from a carefully managed harvest. Processed properly, seal fur will last for decades; durable products that will stand the test of time, and then biodegrade. The same cannot be said of fake fur products.

3. Is seal fur a renewable resource?

Yes. The Canadian seal harvest is well-managed and carried out following strict government regulations. Seal populations that are harvested for meat and fur are healthy and increasing.

4. Is fur cruel?

No decent human being wishes to use products associated with cruelty. However, the notion of cruelty can vary greatly among individuals based on many factors, often very personal. What matters most in a person’s decision to determine whether a given activity is cruel or not is to obtain factual, objectively derived information on this activity. In any such evaluation, it is always important to maintain respect for all components of that activity, which in the case of hunting or trapping include the animal itself, the environment in which it lives, and the people and communities that benefit from this activity, each of these components having its own set of parameters to consider.

5. How ethical is seal fur?

The answer to this question would be similar to that for the previous one. As far as the sealing industry is concerned, rigorous studies followed by specific recommendations have been made to ensure that, from an animal welfare perspective, the best possible killing methods are used. These studies are continuing, as new opportunities for the industry open up.

6. Is the seal fur trade legal?

Throughout Canada, the seal fur trade is legal. The US and the EU have restrictions in place; if you are from these areas, check before attempting to import seal products.

7. Is your seal source sustainable?

Yes. The seal populations harvested are stable and increasing. The harvest is completed according to strict management regulations and limits determined by the Government of Canada.

8. What are seals used for?

Today, almost all of the seal is used, including the meat, oil, and pelt. Full usage is the goal of seal harvesters, processors, and vendors.

9. Are baby seals killed?

If one uses the definition of “baby” as an animal which is still nursing, the hunt for this age group of seals has been prohibited in Canada since 1986. The seals that are now preferentially hunted are young that have been weaned by their mother at least a few weeks previously and are then totally on their own. The nursing period in the species currently hunted commercially (grey seals and harp seals) is very brief since winter or early spring conditions, when the mothers give birth, are unpredictable, and the young seals must acquire the necessary energy reserves as quickly as possible when they have a chance. Weaning is abrupt, the young seals do not see their mother again, and they are left on their own to acquire the necessary hunting skills.

10. How are seals harvested?

The vast majority of seals are now killed by a rifle shot to the head. For harp seals, the hakapik or club can be used only when the animals are on stable ice, which is less and less common because of climate change. For young recently weaned grey seals which in recent past could be born on the ice or on land but are now born almost exclusively on land, the hakapik or club is used exclusively since all these animals are still on land when hunted.

11. Why is seal clubbing a thing?

Through several studies, it has been well demonstrated that the hakapik or the club is the tool of choice to kill young weaned harp seals and grey seals. There are a few very good reasons for this. The skull of these young seals is very thin and can be easily fractured (and the underlying brain destroyed) by a single or very few blows from a hakapik or a club, achieving the same result almost as quickly as a well placed shot to the head from a rifle of high caliber. Moreover, if one or two blows do not appear to kill the seal immediately, the hunter is right beside the seal and can very quickly apply another blow. The same cannot be said about a rifle shot to the head since it can be very difficult to shoot at the head again, especially from a distance, when the wounded animal is moving. Finally, there are far less chances that the carcass of a dead seal will slip away into the water if close to the ice edge when the hunter is standing right beside it with a hakapik than when the seal is shot from a distance.

12. Why the seal hunt is good?

This is a personal opinion similar to above. I would note the need to also state here information about Indigenous and Inuit rights and the balance of an ecosystem theoretically replies on humans being omnivores and thus a predatory of animals like seals. This keeps ecosystems in balance when we harvest sustainably.

13. Is seal hunting legal in Canada?

Yes. Seal hunting is legal and strictly regulated and monitored by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Government of Canada. Harvesters are licenced and trained to follow best practices. Note here the rights for Inuit and Indigenous to harvest for their subsistence and economic purposes under different agreements including but not limited to settled land claims.

14. Are seal products legal in the US?

No. In 1972, the United States passed the Marine Mammal Protection Act; ever since then US markets have been closed to seal products.

15. What is the difference between seals and sea lions?

Seals and sea lions are both marine mammals known as pinnipeds. Here are several general differences but should not be considered an exhaustive list, between the two groups of species:

• Sea lions are brown, seals are usually grey.

• Sea lions are loud — they bark! Seals do not.

• Sea lions have larger front flippers than seals, which they are able to “walk” with.

• Sea lions have external ear flaps; most seal species lack external ears.

16. What part of the seals are used?

Today, efforts are made to use all part of the seal: meat, oil, and pelt.

17. Is the seal endangered?

No seal populations in Canada are endangered; populations are in fact healthy, abundant, and increasing.

18. Are the seals you used farmed or wild caught?

Seals are not farmed. All seals used by the industry in Canada are wild caught — natural, organic, and sustainably harvested.

Culture & livelihood
1. When did Inuit started to hunt seal?

The Inuit have been hunting seal for over 4,000 years. Seals were one of the most valuable animals in a challenging landscape.

2. What was seal used for?

Every part of the animal was relied upon: the pelt for warm, waterproof clothing, boots, and shelter; the leather and sinew for harnesses; fat/oil for heat, light and its great health benefits; and meat to feed themselves.

3. What does seal hunt represent for Inuit and Indigenous communities?

The hunt is central to Inuit and indigenous culture, sharing customs, and skills and values passed from generation to generation. It is also about connection to the land, its resources, and the wider ecosystem. Over time, seals took on commercial importance as export products too, crucial to the survival of communities.

4. Where do indigenous hunting seals live?

The Inuit are indigenous peoples with similar cultures living primarily on the Arctic coasts of Siberia, Alaska, the Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Quebec, Labrador, and Greenland. Canadian Inuit live primarily in the territory of Nunavut, Nunavik in northern Quebec, and in the Nunatsiavut settlement region in Labrador. The Inuvialuit live mostly in the Mackenzie River delta, on Banks Island and part of Victoria Island in the Northwest Territories. Alaskan Inupiaq live on the North Slope, while the Yupik live in western Alaska and a part of Chukotka Autonomous Okrug in Russia.

5. What is the importance of seal meat to northern Canadians?

In Canada’s north, where store-bought meat is expensive, a single seal can provide the equivalent of $200 or more worth of meat to a family—and a much higher level of nutrition than meat you can buy in the stores.

6. What seal species are hunted in Northern Canada?

The Inuit of Canada’s Arctic primarily hunt ringed seals, which are prevalent in the most northern areas of the continent. Many hunters will also hunt harp seals, breaded seals and hooded seals but to a significantly lesser extent.

7. When did Inuit start trading seal products?

The commercial value of seal was first realized in the north in the late 1800s, when European whaling vessels first arrived and, soon after, Hudson’s Bay Company began trading with Inuit. From then on, the animals were not only for subsistence, but also a source of revenue.

8. How does seal hunting contribute to the economy of the North?

Today’s hunt is family-centred and subsistence first. After a family has taken the food it needs, and the pelts required for art and craftwork, the rest may be sold. It is estimated the sale of seal products contributes about $1 million to Nunavut’s economy annually.

9. What impact did the European ban on the whitecoat seal hunt had on northern communities?

In 1982, the European Parliament, in response to high-profile pressure from Greenpeace and other activist groups, banned the import of whitecoat seal pelts. Although they made an exemption for Inuit hunters — who never did target whitecoats. The year 1983 brought a spike in suicides in northern coastal indigenous communities, a drop in annual income (for example: the annual income of a sealer in Resolute Bay dropped to $1000 from $54,000), and other devastating social and cultural challenges. Many of those who had been proud of working hard and making a living from their homeland struggled in the face of unjust and unfounded international scorn.

10. What was the impact of the European Union ban on all seal products?

In 2009, the European Union banned the importation of seal products. As in the earlier action of 1983, the EU exempted Inuit hunters from the ban—but the result was again devastating, reducing the number of pelts sold by 90%.

11. How important is seal hunt for food security?

Up to 70% of Inuit households are considered food insecure. Groceries can be prohibitively expensive in the north, and traditional food sources and hunting methods are eroding. Seal and other country foods can go a long way in ensuring a supply of nutrient-rich food. In Canada’s north, where store-bought meat is expensive. A single ringed seal can provide the equivalent of $200 or more worth of meat to a family—and a much higher level of nutrition.